Central Venue League Format

The CBL operates a Central Venue League format, which pools all teams together in the same venue, utilising the same facility, same set of officials and equipment for all teams. This enables us to keep costs of competition to a minimum and significantly lower than National League play.

Central venue play means on any given CBL day, multiple games from any division may be played on the same date, in the same venue, creating a tournament atmosphere every week within league play.

**For the 2020/2021 season, all teams must be aware of the CBL COVID-19 RULES, which govern all CBL games and events for this season**

Competitions Season

The Community Basketball League Regular Season will commence from January 2021 – June 2021. All games will be played on Sundays. 

The CBL London Cup commences play in April 2021 and concludes in June 2021. 

CBL Divisions

The Community Basketball League will host teams in the following Divisions for the 2020/21 season:

Teams will be allocated positions in the appropriate league following applications and then at the discretion of the League Committee. 


The CBL regular season will consist of 7 games with each of the 8 teams in a division playing each other once. At the conclusion of the regular season, teams will be seeded 1-8, based on win/loss record in the regular season and enter into a ‘knockout’ playoff format to decide the overall division champion.

In the first round of the playoffs the top eight teams will play in four games.

  • Game 1 – 1 v 8
  • Game 2 – 2 v 7
  • Game 3 – 3 v 6
  • Game 4 – 4 v 5

The second round (semi-finals) will see the four winners play one another. 

  • Game 5 – Winner Game 1 v Winner Game 4
  • Game 6 – Winner Game 2 v Winner Game 3

The final round will see the two winners from the semi-finals compete for the CBL Division Championship.

  • Games 7 – Winner Game 5 v Winner Game 6

In addition to the regular season and playoffs, all teams will compete in the CBL London Cup competition.

The London Cup splits teams into 4 pools of 4, at each division, with additional teams being added from outside of the CBL regular season competition. Every team will play each team in its group once (3 games per team) with the winner of each group advancing to the cup semi-finals.

Winners of the cup semi-finals advance to the Cup Final, with the ultimate winner being crowned as London Cup Champions.